New blog on veganism

A few weeks ago I have made a new blog, especially dedicated to veganism. I have been a vegan since I was 17. At that time I was already a vegetarian and feared I could never be vegan, because I enjoyed milk a lot. I then tried vegan substitutes for cows’ milk and found out that food could be just as good without any animal produce. Though being vegan can be good for your health, I am vegan because of moral reasons. I consider it most plausible that all nonhuman animals have some form of consciousness or sentience (“phenomenal consciousness” in the terminology of the British philosopher Ned Block), in the sense that they are able to experience states such as pleasure and pain. I then depart from a deontological egalitarian ethics, arguing that we should treat all animals with consciousness or sentience equally. Given the fact that humans can live perfectly healthy without animal produce, I believe that there are no sound arguments for consuming animals for their meat or dairy. For more information about my opinions on animal consciousness and animal ethics, I refer to my articles on my profile at Academia.edu.

The new blog is called Esteban’s Vegan Side and will contain a discussion of the moral arguments for veganism. Most of all, though, I will publish tasty and delicious vegan recipes. There is still a lot of prejudice out there, considering vegan cooking to be bland and tasteless. I want to show instead that vegan cooking can be surprisingly tasty and good to the palate. I have cooked vegan food for many people who were not vegan, and they always comment how wonderfully surprised they are when they eat my vegan meals. The posts on this blog will be both in English and in Dutch.

I have already posted three recipes on my vegan blog. One for a Moroccan risotto, one for a Spanish gazpacho soup drink, and one for an Indian eggplant curry (Baingan Bartha). I have many more recipes to post. If you’re curious, take a look at my blog!

2 Comments

Filed under Animal Consciousness, Animal Ethics, Publications, Veganism/Vegetarianism

2 responses to “New blog on veganism

  1. I followed your link to academia.edu and started reading your book Animal consciousness and Animal Ethics. Perspectives from the Netherlands. The book is very interesting and I love all of differnt points of view.

  2. Thanks Debbie, great that you went to my profile on Academia.edu and started reading the book. It is very true that the contributions to the book come from very different people with sometimes quite differing views on how we should relate to nonhuman animals morally.
    I looked at your own blog and it looks great Debbie! I’m curious about all your vegan recipes and I like the information you put out there. I understand what you wrote in your “About” section. Stay in touch!

Leave a Reply

